I am Cairo Kovalski.

April 24, 2011 § Leave a comment

When I was younger, I used to think that when you died, you went to heaven at exactly the same age you were when you took your last breath. At eight years old I was ruminating on the manner of my own suicide – just to be a child in the endless wild flower fields, held in God’s hand. The rest of my life has been an exercise in not growing up. Even though my understanding of the hereafter may have changed, but the carefree steps of a country childhood echo up and down the long corridors of myself. I am not ready, in the shrill terrors and frustrations of the city, to give it up. Not now, not ever; I will wander lazily amongst the Elderflower and yellow grasses, painting and singing and  leaping like a hare at all manner of little joys!

This is my diary, life as one of four baby artists, setting sail. I am Cairo Kovalski, and I am a poet and a painter. I live in a little house in a British city with my fellow artists, waking every day with new ideas. My windows are in the roof, and open out to the sky. When we talk (and we do, often), I tell the sky how happy I am to be here, in this lucky country – how grateful I am to see the world in colours and beautiful words.

O to have life henceforth a poem of new joys!
To dance, clap hands, exult, shout, skip, leap, roll on, float on!

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading I am Cairo Kovalski. at Kovalski and the Wild Flowers.

meta

