When I am wasting my time.

April 29, 2011 § Leave a comment

When I am feeling sad for myself, and dwelling on my legs and my bad lungs, and using these thoughts as a fallen tree in my life road – then I am wasting my time.

When I am putting people down, so that they feel bad about themselves, and putting myself in the way of realising their own Godhood – then I am wasting my time.

When I am letting my mind sink into the dark pool, and become stagnant with worries, until my art withers because I have not the confidence to apply myself – then I am wasting my time.

When I am throwing my textbooks across the room like the child, paralysed with doubts like birds of prey that fly above my future – then I am wasting my time.

When I use my breath to press sharp words on the people closest to me, and not to tell them how much they enrich my life – then I am wasting my time.

When I wake in the morning, and feel only the heaviness of my heart, and do not think to thank God for another day, even though He has given me all I need to endure my sufferings – then I am wasting my time.

When I look at the world and feel the tears well for its magnificence, the mountains, the deserts, the oceans alive with the sound of whales talking…When I watch the faces of humanity alight with love and joy and fear and rage – and am moved to my bones by the experience of living…When I look at the littlest things – the flowers, the songbirds, the incredible colours of our fruits and vegetables, the shining scales of fish…When my heart is lifted to God in awe and I know that the holy blaze of living is upon me so that I can do anything, and bring lightning from the sky with my words, and touch the distant galaxies – then my time is not being wasted. Then my time is being spent as wisely as I can imagine.

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading When I am wasting my time. at Kovalski and the Wild Flowers.

meta

